Tarot: Major Arcana and Minor Arcana

Tarot was originally a card game named Triumph. In the 1700s, when they started to become a divination tool, more formalized structure of the cards was introduced. The deck was divided into two major groups, the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana.

Arcana. Sounds mysterious, eh? Well, guess what? Arcana does indeed mean mysteries. So Major Mysteries and Minor Mysteries.

Major Arcana

The Major Arcana contains 22 cards. They are ‘big picture’ or ‘soul work’ cards. They are:


Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana are practical living cards. The day in day out stuff that you need to work on.

They are divided into four suits:

  • Wands
  • Cups
  • Swords
  • Coins (often referred to as Pentacles)

Each suit contains cards numbered from 1 (Ace) to 10. They also contain court cards:

  • Page
  • Knight
  • Queen
  • King

In a reading, the number of Major Arcana versus Minor Arcana cards that appear help guide you as to whether you have some really deep stuff going on or day to day adjustments.

Common Sense Tarot

My ultimate favourite method of tapping directly into my intuition is with Tarot. Fast, simple and totally common sense. Click the image below to find out more about my online Tarot courses mailed straight to your Inbox. Easy peasy!

Get A Comprehensive Email Tarot Reading

Check out my unique comprehensive Email Tarot Reading packages: FIND OUT MORE

Tarot Resources

My favourite decks are available through Amazon:

The Original Rider Waite Tarot Pack
The Faeries’ Oracle
The Heart of Faerie Oracle

Join the Conversation


CommentLuv badge